Charlotte Personal Injury Lawyer
704-714-1450
FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Sale or Delivery of a Controlled Substance

Criminal Defense Lawyer for Drug Charges

The sale or delivery of a controlled substance is a felony offense in North Carolina. A person who sells or delivers a controlled substance can receive a punishment of months or even years in prison. If you have been charged with the sale or delivery of a controlled substance, an experienced defense lawyer can examine your case and potentially negotiate to reduce your charges. Contact Mr. Rosensteel so that he can help determine the best course of action for you.
Call Us Today at 704-714-1450
"I called Rosensteel when I got into some serious trouble, I actually have a different lawyer that I use for everything in charlotte, but after hiring Rosensteel I called my lawyer and he told me to stick with Rosensteel, so obviously I did. The charges I was facing, well let's say I wouldn’t be able to write this for a long time, were 3 now down to 1 allowed me to keep my job. they are in a perfect location and really don’t try, they do everything they say they are going to do."

Possession with Intent to Sell or Deliver

Looking for a Charlotte Lawyer Near You?

A person who delivers or possesses with the intent to sell or deliver a controlled substance classified in Schedule I or II is punished as a Class H felon. North Carolina law provides that a person who commits a Class H felony must receive a sentence between 4 and 25 months, depending on the person’s prior convictions. A person with no prior convictions may receive community or intermediate punishment, but the court is permitted to sentence any person convicted of a Class H felony to active jail time.
Charlotte law firm office
A person who sells a controlled substance classified in Schedule III, IV or V is also punished as a Class H felon. Schedules III, IV, V, and VI include controlled substances such as Vicodin, Tylenol with codeine, Xanax, Valium, Robitussin A-C, Lyrica and marijuana. A person who delivers or possesses with the intent to sell or deliver a controlled substance classified in Schedule III, IV or V is punished as a Class I felon. North Carolina law provides that a person who commits a Class I felony must receive a sentence between 3 and 12 months, depending on the person’s prior convictions. A person with no prior convictions must receive a community punishment, but the court is permitted to sentence a person with prior convictions to active jail time.

Sale or Delivery to Minor or Pregnant Female

If a person at least 18 years old sells or delivers a controlled substance to either (1) a person under the age of 16 years old but more than 13 years old or (2) a pregnant female, that person is punished as a Class D felon. A Class D felony is punishable by a sentence ranging from 38 to 160 months, depending on prior convictions. Anyone who has committed a Class D felony must be sentenced to active jail time.
If a person at least 18 years old sells or delivers a controlled substance to a person who is 13 years old or younger, that person is punished as a Class C felon. A person who commits a Class C felony must be sentenced to punishment between 44 and 182 months, depending on prior convictions, and this punishment must be active jail time. A person prosecuted of selling or delivering a controlled substance to a minor or pregnant female cannot claim mistake of age or lack of knowledge that the recipient was pregnant as a defense.

Sale or Delivery Within 1,000 Feet of a Child Care Center, School or Public Park

A person who is 21 years old or older is punished as a Class E felon if he sells or delivers a controlled substance within 1,000 feet of the boundary of a property used for any of the following:
  • a child care center
  • an elementary school or a secondary school
  • a public park
A Class E felony is punishable by a sentence ranging from 15 to 63 months, depending on prior convictions. A person with no prior convictions may receive intermediate punishment, but any person convicted of a Class E felony may receive active jail time.

For purposes of this aggravating factor, the transfer of less than five grams of marijuana for which no remuneration is received does not constitute a delivery.

Speak to a Charlotte, NC Criminal Drug Charge Lawyer Today

If a person argues that his conduct falls under an exception to the manufacturing of a controlled substance, it is his burden to prove that his conduct was authorized.

If you have been charged with the sale or delivery of a controlled substance, contact an attorney at Rosensteel Fleishman, PLLC (704) 714-1450, to discuss your options.
stararrow-right linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram